Blog Shout out – Sunny Laurel Sisters!

Last month, I was fortunate enough to visit Sunny Laurel Sisters in Colchester, VT.  What a wonderful weekend I had!

There is something to be said for a long, picturesque drive up to Vermont.  I cranked up the Christmas music (readily available on many stations at this time of year) and enjoyed my long and peaceful ride on a Friday afternoon.  My destination was Sunny Laurel Sisters quilt shop.  The purpose of this trip was to discuss the inspiration and design of our QT fabrics.  It is my favorite subject to chat about and I was thrilled to have a fresh audience as I have exhausted my family and friends on the topic!  🙂    Oh, to be able to talk about layout and color, technique and styling…what a great opportunity to share my passion for fabric!

To further the Vermont experience, I stayed in a bed and breakfast, “The Sinclair Inn” ; it was wonderful!   I just happened to be their only guest that weekend and I felt like Queen for a Day (or two).   This “business” trip was turning into a nice re-set, a mini-retreat, which I didn’t realize I needed until I finished my delicious breakfast.  *For the foodies in our midst, a photo of said delicious breakfast*  I know… so yummy!

I  was invigorated to approach a day of meeting new people and reconnecting with my love of our wonderful industry and the reason I do what I do!

I arrived at Sunny Laurel Sisters and found it to be a beautifully appointed, creative space with wonderful samples and displays.  I was impressed, not only with the visual impact of the shop but, the warm and friendly welcome I received.  One of the many reasons I absolutely adore my job,  is knowing that our fabrics are ultimately used by quilters, sewists and crafters to create something…  Regardless of the end use, these fabrics are the creative medium used to deliver a message of love, caring, creativity and sharing!

Here are some photos of this wonderful shop, I hope if you are in the neighborhood, you stop in and say hello!   They celebrated their 3rd birthday on the day I was there…I was thrilled to be part of their celebration events.  Happy Birthday to you in your new location!

sunny9
Light & bright, with plenty of room to browse…
sunny10
Lots of patterns to choose from!!! Not only in this section but throughout the shop!
sunny8
Great overview shot from the front corner – I couldn’t wait to walk around and explore!
sunny3
Wonderful layout by color with great quilt projects for inspiration!
sunny2
Loved the holiday section 🙂
sunny5
A nice big selection of Halloween & Harvest as well…

Just a couple of the many projects made from our fabrics!  A lovely “Bunny Love Quilt”, “Thimble Pleasures” Pop Up Bin and a “Shine Bright Quilt” were beautifully featured!

nicole

Nicole is the owner of this beautiful shop!  I was able to walk around and chat with a few people prior to the presentation.  As many quilters and crafters know, there is wonderful camaraderie when you head to a quilt/fabric shop.   It was so nice to be able to find out what people were making, their next projects and what kind of fabrics they were purchasing!

I spoke with a group of about 20 or so ladies who were part of the birthday celebration!  I explained how we develop our fabric collections, from inspiration to final fabrics. We have different approaches to different types of collections whether it be licensed or developed by our in-house studio artists.  There was so much to discuss and I had a great time reviewing everything with the group.   I brought samples of different projects made with new fabrics and we reviewed some of the newest lines (before they are in shops!)  I am always happy to share my love of textiles and design!  Of course, we always bring goodies for the new friends we make and I felt like Santa handing out our QT bags to everyone!

presentation2.jpg
Nicole helping me by picking names for one of the prize winners!!!
presentation1
That’s me showing off our Antiquities quilt, Essex… the group really loved the color and design of this quilt!

As I said, this was more than a business trip. It was a great reminder of the love I have for  my work, an idyllic retreat (Vermont during the holiday season) and a heartwarming experience to see the people who create with our fabrics as they come together to share and learn.

P.S.,  I almost forgot to mention the loads of goodies I was able to buy for holiday gifting and for myself 🙂 at various little shops and antique stores on my way home…

Thank you to Sunny Laurel Sisters for hosting this On the Go with QT presentation!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Blog Shout out – Sunny Laurel Sisters!

Leave a Reply

